A representational image. — AFP/File


A representational image. — AFP/File

Former prime minister and PTI chief Imran Khan won the NA-22 Mardan-III by-election with 76,681 votes defeating Pakistan Democratic Movement’s (PDM) candidate Maulana Mohammad Qasim on Sunday, according to unofficial results.

JUI-F’s Qasim bagged 68,181 votes as PDM lost another NA seat to the PTI — who has been ruling Khyber Pakhtunkhwa since 2013.

Four candidates were vying for NA-22 Mardan-III.

The NA-22 Mardan-III was vacated by PTI lawmaker Ali Mohammad Khan and Imran Khan was facing the PDM’s Qasim from JUI-F, Abdul Wasey of JI and independent candidate Mohammad Sarwar in the contest for the seat.

Party Candidate Votes
PTI Imran Khan 76681
PDM  Maulana Mohammad Qasim  68181

The above result is unofficial and unconfirmed. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *