PPP’s Qaim Ali Shah, Nisar Khuhro take oath as MPAs for 8th time as 61 members begin their parliamentary journey

  • Qaim Ali Shah, Nisar Khuhro take oath as MPAs for 8th time.
  • 61 members begin their parliamentary journey in Sindh Assembly.
  • 24 MQM-P, nine PTI-backed candidates take oath for first time.

With 148 newly-elected Sindh Assembly members taking oath as part of the provincial assembly, the legislature’s inaugural session saw both new and veteran politicians securing their place in parliamentary politics.

As police resorted to detaining at least 10 workers including women of the Qaumi Awami Tehreek who were protesting outside the assembly against alleged rigging in the polls, Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani administered the oath of the new provincial assembly members.

The legislators will now elect the House’s speaker and deputy speaker later under the assembly rules.

Out of the 148 members who took oath today, 61 have become Sindh Assembly members for the first time, of whom 24 belong to the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P).

Meanwhile, the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has seemingly emerged as a party with the most experienced lawmakers with 10 members taking oath for the fifth and 13 for the fourth time, respectively.

The list of PPP members who made it to the provincial legislature includes former chief minister Sindh Qaim Ali Shah, Nisar Khuhro and Nadir Magsi — all of whom have been elected as members of the assembly for an impressive eighth time.

Other party leaders with notable legislative experience include Agha Siraj Durrani and Dr Sohrab Sarki who have made it to Sindh Assembly for seventh and sixth times, respectively.

Furthermore, nine Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) backed independent candidates also took oath as MPAs for the first time.

Additionally, 21 Sindh Assembly members have become part of the provincial legislature for the third time, whereas for 52 members it will be their their second term as MPAs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *